User leaves company, comes back, SharePoint is not happy…

If a user’s Active Directory (AD) account is deleted, then re-added, they will have a different SID and this will cause some trouble in SharePoint.

In SharePoint 2007 the fix for this is easy:

Stsadm -o migrateuser -oldlogin domain\jsmith -newlogin domain\jjones -ignoresidhistory